Chocolate Coconut Fudge

Chocolate Coconut FudgeUpdates on this recipe: First I cut the sugar in half and it was still plenty sweet enough. Second I was making this and realized I did not have enough cocoa powder. I substituted 60 grams of the cocoa for carob powder. It came out so much tastier. I make that substitution regularly now.

By request I am listing the brands of the ingredients I usually use when I’m at home and have these choices :
280 grams Nutiva Extra Virgin Organic Coconut Oil
200 grams Organic Cocoa Powder (I buy this in bulk)
140 grams Coconut Secret Raw Organic Coconut Crystals (sugar)
2  tablespoons organic vanilla (I make my own organic vanilla)
150 grams Coconut Secret Raw Organic Coconut Flour
45 grams ground Nutiva Organic Chia Seed (I get the whole seeds and grind them myself)

Place coconut oil, cocoa powder, coconut sugar, and vanilla in food processor and mix well.
Put this mixture in a pan, put in oven preheated to 350 degrees and bake for 15 minutes.
I use a large all stainless steel (including handle) soup pan for this. It will make it easier for mixing in the remaining ingredients.

Remove from oven and add coconut flour stirring in very quickly with a wire whisk. Then quickly whisk in chia seed.
I set this by placing the pan in the fridge but it will set fine on the counter if it is not too hot in the kitchen. Cut into squares when it is set. They will be like fudge. I don’t refrigerate them, they do not last that long around here.

Sometimes I like to serve these on a Himalayan salt block. The addition of a little salt really makes a good thing better here. If you don’t have a salt block just sprinkle with a little Himalayan, Celtic, or other true salt.

All of these ingredients are raw, at least they claim to be. If you are raw you can skip the bake. Without the bake it will not be as sweet and not taste as much like fudge.

Leave a Reply

